Ban Mekkala - Customer Reviews


Add review

Excellent Cuisine, Facilities and Staff, Jun 14, 2014 - Jun 21, 2014

Reviewed byBob Reinicke

My extended family of 9 stayed in this wonderful Villa for one week in June 2014. This turned out to be the proverbial "vacation of a lifetime".

The Villa and staff exceeded our high expectations. The Villa manager, Fi, and her staff responded to all of our needs and desires. We had virtually all of our meals at the Villa, and I must say, the Thai and western food was absolutely superb. We decided not to rent a car, and instead used the Villa driver and van for excursions on the island. This was a really good move, and I'm glad that I did not have to drive in sometimes hectic road conditions. Fi accompanied us on all trips, including several to a tailor, where we all had custom fitted suits and dresses made.

The outdoor cinema, which uses a projector and a large roll down screen, is terrific as we enjoyed movies most evenings via our iPhones and iPads using Apple TV.

Before arriving at the Villa, we stayed several days in Bangkok. We never saw a military person or a demonstration, and always felt secure. Bangkok hotels and restaurants were almost empty, and we were treated like royalty. In my opinion, this is a wonderful time to visit Thailand.

 

Jennifer Lin Barrack, Apr 27, 2013 - May 3, 2013

Thanks for a great holiday. Everyone was super happy with the service and attention to detail.

 

Holt Family, Jul 15, 2011 - Jul 25, 2011

What an amazing place to celebrate my wonderful mum's 70th Birthday. We've had a relaxing and very special time, thanks to Ta and the staff and their attentiveness. Can't wait to get home and show everyone the photos of this beautiful place.

 

Clare Holt, Jul 15, 2011 - Jul 25, 2011

The property was lovely and well suited to our family get together - amenities and rooms were very comfortable.

 

Peter and Debbie Yeung, Jul 9, 2011 - Jul 9, 2011

My son Eirnest Yeung got married at this villa and we all had a great wedding ceremony and party. Thanks to the excellent service provide by the team of staff headed by Kun Ta.

We all enjoyed the 4 night stay here. We look forward to coming here again in the future. The staff are cordial, polite and considerate and they make us enjoy this hospitality. Thanks to you all again, this villa is highly recommended to parties concerned.

 

Andre and Diane Durbar, May 17, 2011 - May 24, 2011

Thank you so much to all the staff at Baan Mekkala. You were all fabulous, very attentive and nothing was any trouble. Your organization skills were second to none. Ole and all his assistants prepared the most amazing and delicious meals and there was certainly no need to eat anywhere else.We felt totally relaxed and would recommend this villa to anyone.

 

Paul, Mar 28, 2011 - Mar 28, 2011

I just wanted to let you know we had a very nice stay with my YPO group at your villa in Koh Samui. It was a beautiful villa and the staff was exceptional.

I really appreciate all your help in connecting us to your villa. The guys are all talking about wanting to go back again soon.

Ta, the villa manager was particularly exceptional in her willingness to help and do whatever we asked to make our stay a memorable one.

Thanks again and I hope to connect with you soon.

 

Mike, John Bryan, Paul, Lindsi, Max and Ross, Mar 17, 2011 - Mar 17, 2011

Thank you all for making our second stay at Ban Mekkala as memorable as the first. A beautiful villa, wonderful service and exceptional food! We will be back!

 

Connie Gleeson, Mar 12, 2011 - Mar 12, 2011

The staff were lovely, pleasant and helpful. The chef was fantastic, all the food was delicious. We had a wonderful holiday, thanks for making our stay memorable.

 

Kavanagh, Feb 7, 2011 - Feb 7, 2011

Hi Tina,

Just a short note to let you know we had a great time over CNY. Ta the villa manager was very helpful and the chef was amazing, in fact a few of us would like to sponsor him to be our personal chef!

We may actually consider coming back next year again and so will keep you posted.

All the best,

 

Jonathan and James, Feb 5, 2011 - Feb 5, 2011

What an amazing villa, we all feel truly spoilt over the last week. The staffs were incredibly helpful and friendly and the chef cooked outstanding food night after night. Ta the villa manager was amazing, she was always around and very helpful. We hope to return again next year and we will definitely recommend the villa to our friends and family.

 

Igor, Jan 11, 2011 - Jan 11, 2011

Dear Tatiana,

Thank you so much. Our guests liked EVERYTHING!:)

 

Jen, Oct 14, 2010 - Oct 14, 2010

Hi Helen,

Just wanted to say Thank You for helping us plan such a smooth trip. Once again, I was so glad to have been in contact with you before we left, the peace of mind was amazing and when we arrived everything was more than we expected. The whole group agreed this is one of their most memorable trips and felt really special staying at Ban Mekkala.

Khun Ta and the crew made us feel right at home and were magical to have around. Although we have mentioned how happy we were, please do extend our thanks.

I posted pictures on Facebook and I can't believe the queries I've been getting!

Hope to stay with you again!

 

Joel, Sep 13, 2010 - Sep 19, 2010

Thank you for the perfect stay and Birthday holiday ( 25th birthday) you were all great and I am sure that we will return again.
We all eat and drink too much but that is what Thailand is all about. Holidays are never long enough.

 

The Josephson Family, The Bart Family and The Hunter Family, Sep 12, 2010 - Sep 12, 2009

Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing holiday, we had a very special 60th Birthday for my mother. It was lovely that all our family could be together.Great band, yummy food and the most amazing firework make it a memorable night.

The villa is an amazing place to relax, every morning we all enjoyed getting up early and swimming. The breakfast was always good and satisfying. The children loved the pancakes! Night time was always beautiful as well, we had a wonderful Yoga instructor that was an amazing experience. The staff have been very kind and helpful and we have appreciated all of their hard work, can't wait to come back.

 

Almas, Jayne, James and Ashleigh, Jul 23, 2010 - Jul 23, 2010

Thank you for a fantastic sty, the food ambience and service were perfect. Loved the large pool, great cooking by our mate Ole and excellent service from the staff. Look forward to visiting again.

 

Cosgrove, Ingram and Bedwell Families, Jul 12, 2010 - Jul 17, 2010

Our holiday was fantastic, great facilities, service and attention to detail. The food was exceptional and we are all sad to leave this wonderful oasis. We will definitely recommend this to our friend.

 

Richard, Millet, Chris and Penelope, Jun 28, 2010 - Jul 6, 2010

Thank you for making my experience her fantastic! Really enjoyed my stay due to your kindness. Chef Ole had amazing cooking. It is such a shame that we have to leave so soon, but hopefully we will be back soon. Many thanks once again, you will all be missed.

 

James, Jun 17, 2010 - Jun 17, 2010

Tina,

The villa was superb / the staff were fantastic especially the manageress and the chef,
We will be back soon hopefully my boy loved it,
Thanks very much indeed for following up too I appreciate that,

Best regards

 

James, Sasha, Rapa and Bump, May 21, 2010 - May 29, 2010

Thank you all so much for helping to make this one of the most enjoyable holidays we‘ve ever had.

Ta you have been so friendly and helpful and chef Ole truly spoiled all of us with his fantastic food. Rapa says thank you very much for his chicken nuggets. The villa, gardens, pool and service have all been so well planned and provided. We have really a lovely time, thank you!

 

Max, Lizzie, Jack and Kayla, Tenio, Azui, Feb 26, 2010 - Mar 2, 2010

Huge thanks to all the staff have at Mekkala. Our stay with you have made our trip an experience of a lifetime. We spend an amazing time with our friends and we hope to see you again soon. Ta , Thanks for all the help, patience and putting up with our crazy crown…you're amazing and keep it up.

 

Mike Gillett, Jun 27, 2009 - Jul 6, 2009

Just literally arrived back this morning having stopped over in HKG for 1 night. Everything about the villa was first class and far exceeded our expectations.
The layout, the secluded location on the beach and the quality of the environment, were all that we had hoped for and more. A special mention however must be made of the wonderful staff you have there as they made the holiday for us. Ta (Villa Manager) was a perfect host and should be highly commended for her incredible professionalism and thoughtfulness for us even when she herself was facing some very difficult personal times with the sudden death of her mother. This same professionalism and warmth was also
evident in every other member of her team from the maintenance man to the wonderful chef. Nothing was too much trouble for them and everything was done with a smile on their faces. They made a great holiday and a very special experience for us all.

I will be happy to complete your questionnaire but you can probably already see that you will be scoring high in our books !! Only one minor gripe was that the beds were incredibly hard and uncomfortable which made sleeping a little tricky sometimes !!

Many thanks and best regards
Mike Gillett

 

ShanghaiRhett (July 2013)

Reviewed byShanghaiRhett

It doesn't get much better in life than to experience staying at this beautiful paradise, Ban Mekkala. My family (wife and 2 children under 10) joined a group of dear friends to stay in this villa of 6 exquisite rooms for a week, and we celebrated our dear friends' 20th wedding anniversary. The staff were fabulous, the food was world-class, the swimming pool was fantastic, and the beach was isolated and great for morning/afternoon strolls. The open design and the common areas allowed both a fabulous opportunity to connect with others while still maintaining privacy when we were in our room. It was the best vacation our family has ever experienced in the world (and I've been traveling for over 30 years), and it should be on everyone's "bucket list" as a place to experience!

From shanghai

 

Remy (July 2013)

Reviewed byRemy

This is a truly amazing trip for our group. It is so unexpectedly perfectly done. We arrived this Villa on 7/22 and greeting by the wonderful staffs with a cup and cold drink. We felt like home right at that moment. The staffs were truly amazing. They prepared all meals according to our request everyday. All the staffs were so professional and not overly bother our stay. We were able to hangout at the villa and somehow when we need them they appeared like Ninja. The most amazing impact is the layout of the Villa. it is so welcoming and homey. The large and open living room connect to dining area. The living room area is facing the ocean on the second floor, so we were able to hangout and enjoy the amazing view of the villa and the ocean. The living room walk downstairs that is the all the individual suites located. We can't help to take pictures to show off to our friends of this villa. Each suite has indoor and outdoor shower. As it's my anniversary, so we picked the master room, we were breath taking by the view of the master room. The master room has walls of glass door and windows so we are able to see the view in every angle. The U shape layout shallow pool allow me to sit in the water bench and work on my emails while everyone is hanging out in the pool. I will say this is one the the most family friendly pool design. Our most stay were hanging around this pool eating and chatting. I don't want to get too personal, but the garden and pool layout has host a perfect anniversary ceremony for us. We are truly feel the magical moment in the place. If I can continue go on and on.. I would just say, pls pay a visit to this Villa and you will experienced this Villa. I would come back over and over again if could. Hope you enjoy if you get a chance to visit.

From Las Vegas

 

Cortney S . (July 2013)

Reviewed byCortney S .

I first attended my friend's wedding at Ban Mekkala and was so impressed. These two years I have been dying to return. Now upon my 20th wedding anniversary, I knew where I wanted to stay! The best part was knowing my family and friends would be touched by the beauty and layout of the villa. Every room was top class, clean, and well looked after. The staff knew exactly how to service yet let us feel independent. The serenity of the location was truly the best way to enjoy Samui. Top marks in every aspect. I shall return!

From Shanghai, China

 

Scott H. (July 2013)

Reviewed byScott H.

We were greeted by super friendly and professional staff at the door, walked over a little beautiful coil fish pond into the main house on the upper level, and our eyes and cameras just could not stop appreciating all the details, the art pieces, the design of the space, the furniture...everything. All the rooms are so thoughtfully designed that every room has a view of the ocean and the pool. In-room amenities, decorations, atmosphere are so comfy and stylish that I can stay in the room all day. But why would I when I can open our glass sliding door and take a few steps to plunge into the warm infinite pool and watch the ocean and hear the waves! Or we could take the kayaks out for a beautiful sunset watch on the ocean. Or we could just hang out at any corner of this house, not going anywhere and enjoy a true vacation experience. When we did go out, we felt that the food prepared in the house by our staff was much better than the restaurants. This vacation home truly offers a fun, relax, comfortable, and worry-free vacation. We highly recommend this house for any group who is visiting Koh Samui. It was a magical experience for us.

From California

 

Jerrold L. (August 2013)

Reviewed byJerrold L.

The facilities are amazing with the attention to detail second to none. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The quality of the cuisine rivalled any top class restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

From London

 

Graham (December 2013)

Reviewed bygraham_zink

This villa is a very rare find...amazing beachfront which is perfect for long walks and a lush and spacious property perfect for a holiday get-away. We stayed with three other couples and all of our children...relaxing and many activities at your fingertips. The living area both near the kitchen and beside the pool is very comfortable with friendly staff who are excellent cooks. We look forward to returning!! Many thanks again

From Shanghai, China

 

LILLYBELLA4 (June 2013)

Reviewed byLILLYBELLA4

The accommodation has all the facilities you need, pure luxury, you could not ask for more. The position of the villa is wonderful with direct access to the beach and superb views of the bay and sea across a beautiful infinity swimming pool, providing a very calm setting which is great for couples or family as it is such a relaxed environment. All the rooms are very clean and of an exceptionally high standard with extremely large bathrooms. The whole place gives the wow factor. The food is impeccable, so fresh and tasty would love to have a restaurant at home that could produce such wonderful meals. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

From United Kingdom

 

Jennifer B. (May 2013)

Reviewed byJennifer B.

This truly amazing villa feels like u are in your own boutique hotel...with attentive staff catering to your every needs, five star chef that will cook up anything u desire, pool perfect for kids and adults with lounge sala to just chill, and when in the active mood you can charter water sports activities right to your beach front view. Did i mention the super relaxing massage you can order in to finish your glorious day. You will never want to leave this hideaway you wish u can call home.

From Shanghai, China

 

Chris S. (June 2013)

Reviewed byChris S.

This is a truly lovely place to enjoy your holiday if you are looking for a comfortable, relaxing and very well equipped villa. As a family we have been three times usually in Sept/Oct which is not the high season. The weather has been good with short sharp showers, but not enough to spoil the holiday. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. The villa is situated in a quiet part of the island but within 30 minutes of more lively areas if you fancy a day/night out. The chef is very talented and produces wonderful Thai dishes to please all. Many of the bedrooms are situated to the side of the garden or near the pool, which is chlorine free and suits our grandchildren. The beach leading down from the gardens is quiet and safe for children. This is a lovely place to stay for our extended family and we will be going back again this year.

From London,

 

Elizabeth W. (June 2013)

Reviewed byElizabeth W.

Our large family, 12 adults and four children under 6years, have had a wonderful holiday and go back every year. The staff are excellent, especially the chef who caters to us and the kids. The accommodation is luxurious and comfortable. Spotless linen, bath and beach towels provided everyday, the pool is big and surrounds the outdoor 'sala' ( eating area) Upstairs is the dining room and lounge with huge telly and music. We are going again in aug 2013. The staff look after our every need from transportation, laundry, beach barbecue, boat for fishing or watersports. We get picked up at the airport by the villa manager and all the staff are waiting to welcome us on arrival.

From London

 

Anna S. (July 2013)

Reviewed byAnna S.

I came to Ban Mekkala with a large group of extended family, it was our second holiday at the property and as before we had a fantastic time. The property was in good order and everything we needed was supplied. The staff were very attentive and helpful without being at all intrusive and they were particularly kind towards our children. The pool was a delight with a quiet beach to entertain the younger members of our party. The food was delicious with all our individual needs being catered for by the very talented chef. I can highly recommend Ban Mekkala and I feel that it is particularly suited to larger groups/family holidays.

From London

 

Luxury Villas & Homes 101