Baan Kilee - Customer Reviews


Add review

An amazingly beautiful wedding venue and family vacation home, Aug 1, 2014 - Aug 5, 2014

Reviewed byFrances Hurley

We stayed at Baan Kilee for our wedding days. The villa is extremely spacious and well laid out, the rooms are also airy, spacious and decorated with sumptuous fabrics and gorgeous artwork.

There is plenty for the adults and children to do including, croquet, swimming in the pool or sea, walks along the beach, volleyball and a big screen tv for rainy days.

The place was absolutely beautiful, the perfect location for our wedding, but it is the staff there who really make it a wonderful venue. In particular Khun Pooh and Rose, who anticipated our every need, from serving us champagne in the pool, to playing with the children and recycling the wedding flowers as villa decorations.

They organized us for meals and many other things, always polite but with a smile and a joke to lighten things up. They really make the place an amazing wedding venue and holiday villa.

The chef is also fantastic, I lived in Thailand for 4 years but didn't want to leave the villa as we had some of the best Thai food I have ever tasted there.

Overall, this has been the most beautiful and special few days for us, so a huge thank-you to everyone that has contributed. We recommend signature weddings and this villa without hesitation to all our friends as it has been such a positive experience for us

 

Philippe MEYER, Mar 24, 2013 - Mar 29, 2013

Just back from a wonderful week in Villa Kilee.

First of all you have a wonderful team managed by Khun Rod.
It is very rare nowadays to have such kind and trustworthy people at our service.
We simply felt at home as we received a more than special welcome from your entire staff.
Having been Born and raised in Thailand I have seen quite a bit of this country.

At places where we are regulars we do not get that kind of warmth.
Even the maids or pool man were anticipating our every needs.
Decorations, table setups, lighting etc just top notch !!
Some amazing initiatives there which my family and I would like to congratulate your entire team on.
The chef was just awesome, cooking either Thai dishes or Farang food. She cooks the best "Pad Thai" in the whole Kingdom !
Barbecue by the beach, table setting with the lighting .... sunset, no words to define that
Very big Thumbs Up to Villa Kilee's team !

Villa Kilee is what I consider a dream house. The well thought out floor plan and landscaping make it optimal for both young adults with children or elderly parties, we were stunned.My little daughter had a great time as there is a room full of toys with Barbie Dolls !!
We drove down by car expecting to visit the Island but ended up not as we were in our very own paradise and the clock just stopped !

Once again very unique as a first experience with Luxury Homes and certainly by far a better service and environment than those super 5 star hotels !
All was provided ! We only need to bring a spare set of clothes !

Please thank Khun Rod and her team again for this great week in which we celebrated our father's 70th birthday.


Philippe and Christian Meyer.

 

Gayle McGowan, Mar 8, 2013 - Mar 15, 2013

We had the most fabulous time at Baan Kilee, it is just paradise, the staff were so lovely and helpful, we couldn't have asked for a better holiday, we loved everything about it!

Cheers Gayle McGowan

 

Michael, Jan 19, 2013 - Jan 26, 2013

My wife, Cheryl, and I, together with families from New Zealand and Sweden stayed at Ban Kilee from 19 to 26 January 2013. I just wish to formally record with you our sincere appreciation for the excellent way we were looked after by Rose and the team. Everything was wonderfully provided by the team who were always polite, pleasant, good fun and accommodating - nothing was ever a problem. The food we enjoyed was excellent - expertly cooked, presented and served.

We were on at Baan Kilee for our son's wedding. Several activities/events were held away from the Villa and some needed to be abandoned. Rose and the team, at very short notice, made alternative arrangements at Baan Kilee and I might add those arrangements turned out to be significantly better than those expected off site.

One further thing. Often you find that pictures are 'enhanced' to make a venue look more impressive than what it really is. Prior to travelling to Thailand we had viewed your website and thought "Baan Kilee is going to be very good". Let me say the pictures do not do justice to the venue. Baan Kilee was simply amazing! Be assured we will be telling everyone just what an amazing Villa experience Baan Kilee was.

Best wishes
Michael Friend

 

5 days (not long enough), Feb 15, 2012 - Feb 20, 2012

Hi,

I have lived in Hong Kong for 13 years and satyed at numerous Thai / Bali villas, Baan Kilee is amongst the very best..!!

The situation is great, and the beach is clean and safe.

The living space and bedrooms are first class and organised really well.

The staff (and Rose in particular) are really excellent - friendly and efficient, but also very practical and they were great fun also.

All in all a really great option for families

 

Jen Ryan, Jul 2, 2010 - Jul 12, 2010

Dear Tina,

I just wanted to write you an email letting you know what a fabulous time we had staying at Baan Kilee from 2-12 July. This truly is a 5 star experience where nothing is too much effort for the staff, they are truly exceptional and special mention must go to Rose who is fabulous - we wish we could all have a Rose to take home with us.

We were there for a family reunion (10 adults / 9 kids) and it was the perfect place in every sense - the pool, swing, kayaks, movie room, play room etc all kept the kids entertained for hours, there was nothing that had not been thought of.

Nat the chef is amazing and we ate the best Thai food we've ever had and way too much of it! The
feel of Baan Kilee is nothing but relaxing and we found ourselves very happy to stay there and laze the days away.

On behalf of all of us thanks for all your help and please pass on our
thanks and appreciation to Rose and her staff, they really made the
stay special. We would have no hesitation in recommending Baan Kilee to others, and hope we can get back there sooner rather than later....it's absolutely perfect and we miss it terribly now we're home in reality again.

With Kind Regards,

Jen Ryan

 

Ando Wikstrom, Feb 28, 2010 - Mar 7, 2010

Dear Anna and Tina,

Safely returned to the swedish winter after a fantastic stay at Baan Kilee, we are now trying to summeraize everything that we have experienced on Koh Samui. The villa was far above our wildest expectation and was absolutly perfect for our group.The villa, the staff and the chef were so perfect that we opted for staying most of our time in and around the villa. Sevice very friendly and well adapted to all our needs. The food was excellent and we enjoyed all the various savoury thai dishes we were served. A special thanks to Rose for all she did for us, a remarkable woman.

Last and not least my thanks to you two for all your very professional help during the whole process off fixing us up at Baan Kilee.

Hope one day to be able to return to Baan Kilee, Ando

 

Criag Vought, Dec 23, 2009 - Jan 2, 2010

Dear Tina and Jacqui,

thank you, Tina, for the splendid New Year's Eve feast and fireworks display. We all enjoyed a truly magical evening.

Baan Kilee was perfect for our multi-generation gathering. Its layout, location, appointments, and facilities combined to create an utterly comfortable and fun-filled vacation for the children of all ages (5 through 78). What made our stay unforgettable, however, was the staff. The lovely Khun Poo and her associates were so attentive, so gracious, so helpful. They had to hear a request only once (for toothpicks, for hot water and lemon) for that item to be provided without asking thereafter. Their patience with the umpteen requests for ice cream and mango smoothies throughout the day was commendable. The table settings were always stunning and creative, and the housekeeping conscientious.

The chef's cooking was delicious, varied, and just right in amount. He's probably never made so much fried rice in 10 days. Watching him work we were so impressed with his efficiency.

Thanks to the hard work behind the scenes, which neither Poo nor Nat ever let disturb their composed and graceful demeanours, each of us was able to relax deeply and enjoy each others company without stress - a rare achievement for an extended family reunion, no doubt!

Hoping to find the occasion to return someday to the fabulous Baan Kilee, we send you our regards,

the Bendy/Vought/Holt/Lin clan

 

Richard Hawkins, Mar 9, 2009 - Mar 11, 2009

What a perfect venue for a 3 day party, all together on the beach and such great sunrises ....
The transformation of Baan Kilee from an established tropical paradise to a rock concert venue was quite miraculous and a testament to the imagination of the Hong Kong party team and to the delivery skills of the local event team. The detail that went into this production was amazing, from inflatable guitars, to vodka luges, choppers, lady boy shows, fire juggle r s, guitar shaped cakes - what a tough act to follow. The Band from Hong Kong quite stole the show, they are to be highly recommended - 9th State - and the stage and light show were of an amazingly professional standard. To have all our friends co-located in the wonderful beach houses, Baan Puri, Baan Ora Chon and Waimari was fabulous - 80+ friends all in one place. Well done all.

Richard Hawkins

 

Geoff and Chin Hill, Mar 9, 2009 - Mar 11, 2009

Just a big thank you from chin and I for what was a fantastic brilliantly organized and hugely successful party for the aged rocker.

Thks again especially to tina for allowing us to party at Baan Kilee!!

Geoff and chin hill - HKG

 

Chris Botsford, Mar 9, 2009 - Mar 11, 2009

Thank you for an amazing off-the-charts special weekend. One of the very best. No detail too small. The only slightly worrying thing was how much the party boy seemed to enjoy the Katoey lap dance..
You are all incredible and a new high water mark for exceptional generosity.

Thank you all.

Chris Botsford - HKG

 

Lis Ellis, Mar 9, 2009 - Mar 11, 2009

Thank you so much for organizing a wonderful weekend. We enjoyed every moment of it (apart from having to get up to leave on Sunday morning.

It was such a luxury to have a holiday that was so completely planned for us! Most certainly the closest we'll ever come to a celebrity event!

It was a wonderful weekend. Thank you so much!

Lis Ellis ( Partner Minter Ellison) HKG

 

Bater Family, Feb 12, 2009 - Feb 20, 2009

Hi Jacqui,

Sorry we didn't get a chance to meet maybe next time but what a fabulous holiday we had at Baan Kilee the location was just something else but what made it special was the staff, your client need not fear about leaving the villa in their hands they are so capable, efficient and so caring we all miss them dearly, Rose is a big asset she is so professional in handling people and the chef also, nothing was too much trouble they were just great.
We will definitely return should we get the opportunity to get a group together again and also you will be highly recommended to our friends and family.Hope to see you next year but in a smaller villa.

Many many thanks,

The Bater family

 

Catherine Gordan & Family, Oct 24, 2008 - Oct 28, 2008

Hi Jacqui,

I just wanted to drop you a note to say what a fine job the team at Baan Kilee are doing. Rose was great at managing the house as well as doing extras like helping out with the kids without being asked. The chef was also very good so we had a stress free and enjoyable time.

Our family went to another smaller property after Baan Kilee and were sorely disappointed with the management team there (although the property was nice). We stayed at Baan Laem Sor two years ago and had the same good experience. We will only rent a property managed by Samui Villas and Homes from now on.

Best regards,

Eliza.

 

Arkre Family, Jul 2, 2008 - Jul 15, 2008

Dear Desiree!

Would just like to let you know that we had the most fantastic stay at Baan Kilee. The Villa is superb and so is the staff with the kind, effective, professional and warm Kuhn Rose heading them.

The only area with room for improvement would be the cleanliness of the beach. The staff kept it clean until the waterline, leaving a lot of broken glass in the 3-4 meter area we had to walk through to get into the sea. (only 0 - 15 cm of water). We picked the glass every day ourselves, the staff could not have not seen this. It would be a nice improvement if this was fixed.
Anyway, our overall impression was magnificent, we have recommended it to everybody we know, and will for sure come back, if not to the same villa, at least to your company and one of your many villas.

Kind regards
Robert Aakre

 

Andrew Rae & Family, May 23, 2008 - May 30, 2008

Dear Desiree,

I just wanted to follow up and say how much we enjoyed our week at Baan Kilee!

Khun Rose and her team are truly excellent staff. Khun Rose and the Chef made our lives very easy and were incredibly helpful with everything, the best staff I have ever had the privilege of seeing. Each one of us would happily have packed them away and brought them home with us if we could!

The birthday party was excellent and many thanks to Mr Jack for arranging that, with the usual excellent work by Rose and her team in carrying it off so well.

I would be grateful if you will pass on the compliments, and those of all my guests, to the team and to management.

Please also, if the chance arises, pass our compliments to the owners on the creation of a truly lovely environment.

Kind regards,

Andrew

 

Nick and Sarah Penn, Apr 1, 2008 - Apr 1, 2008

Dear Tina,

I would just like to thank you for allowing myself and my family to stay in what was certainly the nicest villa I have ever stayed at,and believe me I've tried a few.

The effort and attention to detail that you must have put in to making the villa so special for guests to stay in was quite superb. You obviously spent a lot of time choosing the location before taking the plunge as I felt this also was spectacular and can only improve over the coming years.

Our trip will stay in our memories for a long time to come and I hope that I am able to do a repeat visit sometime.

I wish you and your staff many more happy days there and if ever you are in our neck of the woods, please don't hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards,

Nick and Sarah Penn

 

Rawls family, Mar 20, 2008 - Mar 31, 2008

What a holiday! From the moment we were picked up at the airport with the lady in the immaculate linen out fit to the time we left we were made to feel so very special. The accommodation was truly spacious and contemporary, on occasions giving you the feeling you were the only family staying there....We were lucky enough to sleep in the rooms over looking the infinity pool with a view of the five islands over our toes at the end of the bed. What a view! Could be sold as a post card in its own right! Particularly enjoyed our own huge outdoor stone bath and outside shower with orchids growing up the wall from within coconut shells.

The children had so much to do - spending time with the children from the other two families we went with; Sailing lessons, canoeing in the sea in front of the villas, elephant riding, tree canopy trip, cooking with the villa's chef, napkin folding, films in the enormous cinema room, table tennis, bonfires on the beach, lighting lanterns on the beach and watching them float up, fireworks and a snorkeling trip around the Five islands.

The staff were super - K. Rose and K. Bea were very attentive and were keen to share so much to give us all an introduction to their culture. The Thai food was delicious. The villas offered huge variety - I think we counted 9 different places that we could all sit together. There was a big birthday party whilst we were there - which showed how the villas could accommodate a big party and still feel so intimate.

One highlight for me was to see a buffalo swimming in the sea from our beach...

Thank you for wonderful time.

Adam, Clare, Ben & Tilda

 

McConnell family, Dec 27, 2007 - Jan 4, 2008

Dear Marc;

I am writing regarding the wonderful stay that we enjoyed at Baan Kilee, over the New Year's 2007/2008 period.

It was initially a concern that we had many families congregating from 4 different continents, but those concerns were quickly overcome by the beautiful house, Baan Kilee, itself and all of the various outlets and rooms in which to find personal space. At all times of the day or during the evening, there was always an abundance of space for everyone, without ever feeling crowded, in any way. With three distinct generations represented during our stay, there was always an activity to cater to everyone (Quiet reading, yoga, sun-lounging, water-sports in either the infinity pool or Gulf of Thailand from our beach access or hiking to local fishing villages for lunch).

A very special word of thanks to the staff, who were fantastic, to say the very least. The House Manager (Kuhn Bea) and senior Chef (Kuhn Guy) could not have been more welcoming or hospitable. Their comprehension of spoken English, appreciation of Western idiosyncrasies, and knowledge of spas, shopping, resturants and attractions around the island made them indispensable part of planning every group activity. In four consecutive evenings, the adults enjoyed a dining experience in a different location each evening (On the terrace overlooking the beach, on the grass between the infinity pool and beach, in the more informal dining room above the pool, and, finally, New Year's was a formal event in the dining area at the highest point on the property).

In closing, my wife and I travel around the world at least twice per year from Australia. As it is such a long way from anywhere, we try to settle in one spot for a minimum of one week. The blessing of staying at Baan Kilee is that whether we were to stay alone or with a group of 20 people, we would always have the room to enjoy as much quiet time as we need, and spend as much time with friends and family as we should wish.

Looking forward to our return trip back to Baan Kilee and Koh Samui.

Warm Regards,
David

David McConnell
Director, Equity Sales-Trading
UBS Securities (Australia) Ltd

 

Kenyon Family, Jul 22, 2007 - Jul 28, 2007

Tina,

I don't know where to start to thank you for the most amazing days we've just spent at Koh Samui.

The villa is unbelievable - you should be so proud of yourself, it's a fantastic accomplishment. I know you need to think about the details, and those things which might seem not quite right yet, but everything about the villa as it is right now is sensational. I think your staff are great - they seem to observe, listen and then do it differently so getting it right.

It's just amazing - I can't think of better words! We loved every minute and can't wait to go back! (I have a plan, but need to get through the next few hellish days at work before I can give it some more thought, and I'm sure you don't want to think about it again for at least a few days!)

I did a search and found your villa on the Samui Villas website - let me know if you're ready for me to start spreading the work about it!

Nicki Kenyon
Managing Partner
Tequila - Singapore

 

Michael Duncan, Jul 20, 2007 - Jul 29, 2007

I am astounded in what you have done with your house and the way it is run.Very impressive.

Michael

 

Jill Stanton, Jul 20, 2007 - Jul 29, 2007

Setting is unbelievable! The private beach, the views, the quietness…all fantastic!

The property has been well thought out, letting you live inside out...

The accommodation is of the highest standard, very comfortable and luxurious!

It would be great as a setting for a wedding, a 40th birthday, an anniversary celebration, just about any celebration for friends and family and so much more intimate than a hotel..

I just chilled, and I loved it…I haven't slept so long in the longest time!

01.08.07
Jill Stanton
VP Nike Apparel

 

Fiona Hathorn, Jul 20, 2007 - Jul 29, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at Baan Kilee and would, without hesitation, return to the villa and recommend it to our friends. The private and quiet location of the villa was a big plus for us as was the wonderful beach and view. I was amazed at the quality of the whole villa as it was on par with many 5 Star, top end private island hotels, that I have stayed in. The current Thai Chief is superb and any guests interested in cooking should ask him for a lesson, I did and thoroughly enjoyed working under his direction.

During our stay we did the following activities;

Five Islands fishing boat tour, organized by the Five Islands restaurant. Personally I loved the small local boat but some might not. Definitely a must do trip in my opinion.
Scuba Diving - the villa manager organized a day's scuba diving for my 10 year old boy. He was taken off in a taxi and returned to me at 4pm having had a wonderful day of private one on one diving with a local instructor (Discovery Divers - Chaweng)
Massage - at the villa, organized by the villa manager. Good but would prefer to go outside away from the kids screaming in the pool!
Hill top view Massage and Rock Spa ( Tamarin Springs ) - best massage that I have ever had - you must do it!
Sailing - A wonderfully kind chap called Kunta come over to the villa with two boats and parked them on our beach for a week. Every afternoon my kids had sailing lessons. My boys are 8 and 10 - they loved it.
Large boat catamaran (Coco Blues) with Kunta at his base in Chaweng - good to see the island from a distance.

Many thanks

Fiona Hathorn

Retired - Head of Global Equities

 

Kate O'Brien, Jul 20, 2007 - Jul 29, 2007

This new property is simply fab! Nestled on its own beach far from the Chewang crowds its the perfect getaway for family and friends.
Everything is thought of to the finest detail making it ideal for both adults and children (who can simply spend their days between the large pool, beach combing and playing football and tag in the garden).
Staff were superb and the food (especially the Thai) was on par with top-class restaurants and in even better surrounds.
The friendly staff, headed by Khun B, were on hand to cater to our every need from booking taxis, organizing a long-tail boat to booking massages on site - or soaking up the fresh air in the hills of Tamarind Springs (just a 20-minute drive).

While our holiday was meeting of friends, Baan Kilee is also the perfect venue for family reunions, birthday parties (all ages!) and small weddings and I personally cant wait to return!

Kate O' Brien
Journalist
Hong Kong

 

Michelle Penfold, Jul 20, 2007 - Jul 29, 2007

What a magical and tranquil part of the world at Baan Kilee! From our arrival welcome of cool watermelon cocktails to the (almost teary) departure as we said goodbye to our new friends - the staff - at the villa it was fantastic. We were celebrating a girls' weekend for ten with guests flying in from all over the world and could not have chosen a better venue.

The huge expanse of bedrooms and various entertaining areas enabled our group to remain relaxed over entire stay. A luxurious pool, sunken chairs, the bar-stools by the barbecue, huge comfortable beds, sunken baths and lounges everywhere! Very useful for the many massages and spa treatments we booked and enjoyed!

After staying at various six-star resorts over Asia over the last 15 years I would definitely recommend Baan Kilee as a viable option to the smaller rooms and less intimate dining areas with inferior hotel service. It has everything you need and staff who are ready to fall over themselves to complete the most simple or difficult request. Chef's food was amazing, so much so that we canceled our last dinner out and instead stayed at home to enjoy yet another of her feasts.

I would love to return with my young family soon as the Villa is a safe and large option for both parents and children to be entertained.

The only bad thing is you have to leave!

Michelle Penfold

 

Bardburry Family, Jul 12, 2007 - Jul 19, 2007

Finally got round to this - suffering from bout of indolence!

Baan Kilee is in a stunning location - the sunsets are spectacular

The residence is a collection of luxurious pavilions beautifully set in an al fresco living environment with particular provision for children

The resident staff are ably led by the delightful Khun Bee for whom nothing appears too much trouble and we were very impressed by the quality of the food and the cooking

We had a really wonderful holiday

Thank you

Jim Bradburry

 

Peter Norris & Family, Dec 28, 2003 - Jan 7, 2004

Just a quick note to say that we had a wonderful time at Baan Kilee.

The accommodation, was perfect for our family. We were lucky enough to stay in the master bedroom which was beautifully appointed with ample space for the whole family. The pool was fantastic with plenty of shallow areas for the younger children and stunning views out over a great beach and out to sea. The cinema room added another dimension for keeping the family entertained. The hammock slung between two palm trees on the edge of the beach epitomized the lazy luxury of this lovely place. On top of this the staff were incredibly helpful and the food excellent whether down at a beach barbecue, on the deck or in the main dining room.

Thanks for a lovely time!

Peter Norris

Imagine Groug

 

Riaclarke (November 2013)

Reviewed byRiaclarke

Baan Kilee is the perfect setting for a get away with family and friends. We organised a stay with friends from all over the World to celebrate a special birthday. With a large group (more than 20) we were also able to use the other villas on either side. This allowed the group to be together but not feel on "top" of each other. There were those that wanted to do yoga and train in the mornings and those that wanted to sleep in. This was possible and easy.All of the rooms were well appointed with air conditioning and ensuite facilities. The food and service unbelievable. We could choose the dishes every night and it was always exceptional. It's clear the team go out of their way to look after you. Our hostess, Rose made sure we lacked for nothing and everybody agreed that it really was paradise. We are already making plans to return for another party.

From London

 

Luxury Villas & Homes 101